Types of Macular Degeneration
Publish date 06-03-2016

Types of Macular Degeneration. Wet Age Related Macular Degeneration with subretinal blood and exudates due to CNV © 2016 American Academy of Ophthalmology




Types of Macular Degeneration


1- Dry Macular Degeneration

This type of AMD occurs when the light sensitive cells in the macula breakdown, causing blurry spots and a gradual loss of central vision.

Dry Age Related Macular Degeneration progresses through 3 stages, and if caught early, it may be possible to slow the progression of these stages. Dry AMD accounts for more than 80% of AMD cases.

Read more about Dry Macular Degeneration.

2- Wet Macular Degeneration

This type occurs when abnormal blood vessels begin to grow under the macula. These blood vessels are very fragile and rupture easily, causing blood and fluid to leak into the macula, resulting in severe damage and scar tissue. In medical terms, this is referred to as choroidal neovascularization, and usually leads to rapid vision loss.

I hope you are finding this definition of macular degeneration useful - do make sure you use the other AMD articles listed at the bottom of this page.

Read more about Wet Macular Degeneration