Types of Glaucoma

Types of Glaucoma

Types of Glaucoma​



Glaucoma can be either Primary Glaucoma or Secondary Glaucoma. Glaucoma said to be Primary when the cause of the glaucoma is unknown while it is called Secondary when there is increase in Intraocular pressure secondary to another ocular diseases.

Primary Glaucoma

Primary glaucoma is classified into: Primary Open Angle Glaucoma, Primary Angle Closure Glaucoma and Primary Congenital Glaucoma.

1- Primary Open Angle Glaucoma is divided into:

2- Primary Angle Closure Glaucoma is divided into:

  • Acute Angle Closure Glaucoma.
  • Intermittent Angle Closure Glaucoma.
  • Chronic Angle Closure Glaucoma.
  • Latent Angle Closure Glaucoma.

Secondary Glaucoma

In Secondary glaucoma there will be raise in Intraocular pressure due to pathological diseases of the eye. These pathological disorders occur either in the posterior chamber, the anterior chamber or in both chambers. Read more about Secondary Glaucoma



Login or sign up to comment